Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

m60b44 build... I think I already ruined my block...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

m60b44 build... I think I already ruined my block...

So I picked up a 97 540i/6 drivetrain. I already have an m60b40/5spd in my e30, but I wanted to throw my m60 heads/timing stuff on the m62 block, aka m60b44, and then throw on the 6 speed as well. I did a compression test, all cylinders were 220-230, except one 210 and one 240. Seemed good enough for my use, as my current m60 is 195-230 all around and that thing runs great.

So I began tearing down the m62 engine. This is my first time messing with engine internals.

I started cleaning it after some googling that turned up zero relevant results. I first used a new razor blade very carefully to removed the thick head gasket crap that was left on the block. I also taped off the oil/water holes around each cylinder and scraped off the carbon from the pistons. Then used a maroon scuff pad and lacquer thinner to clean the pistons. I shop-vac'd the crap off as I went, trying not to let anything fall between the piston and bore. The pistons stick above the block surface so I didn't mar the top of the bores at all with the scuff pad. I used a rag and some lacquer thinner to wipe the top of the bores since they had carbon crap all over them, which came off pretty easy. I used my finger to wipe oil around all of the bores as I went from piston to piston to keep things lubricated. I then started wiping the block deck surface with the maroon scuff pad and lacquer thinner to get all of the remaining gasket stuff off, at which point I stopped because I realized I'm going pretty far with some pretty harsh tools, with no idea WTF I'm doing. I don't even know if a maroon scuff pad is acceptable to use to prep an aluminum block surface?