From UT to CA my Slicktop S50 build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From UT to CA my Slicktop S50 build

First off I want to thank my friend Nikko for finding these cars and passing along the good deal to me. Even though a cheap swap turned into a very expensive build.

Little background: I have been building cars/crawlers/trucks for quite a few years now, mostly in the VW Audi community. I previously built an E30 with the intent of going SpecE30, but with my distain for rules I quickly realized I wasn’t going to fit in well there. I decided I needed a new project that released a bit more power and allowed me to play with the suspension a bit more than Spec allows.

One of my best friends found this little gem of an E30 sitting in Utah.

1991 318is Slicktop: Not running.

I replaced the fuel pump and she was off zipping around with massive oil and vacuum leaks.

I drove it a total of the 10 miles to a friend’s shop to yank the motor.

The Donner: 1992 325is M50NV 5speed- Needed a new battery

I initially was going to go the route of just tossing that motor in and having an ultra cheap swapped E30 slicktop. I quickly decided that was not going to make me happy in the power department.

The pulling of the motors!

The girlfriend wondering why I always take on the random last minute projects.

The Motor and E30 chassis were graciously transported half way to me out here in California. I picked it all up in Las Vegas and got it back to CA to get the build started.

I initially was trying to find ways to releasing more power from the M50NV and as many of you have found out the biggest problem with modifying those is the lack of tuning availability.
    As I slowly progressed and made decisions on what to do and what I was going to do, I kept stumbling upon good deals on the parts I wanted.

The Build turned out something like this….

The Motor:
    • M50NV block Bored over to 86mm and honed
    • JE 11.5:1 Pistons, rings and pins