IF M/S 50 SWAPED READ THIS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IF M/S 50 SWAPED READ THIS

I'm doing a write-up with info pulled from all forums, PLEASE scrub and ADD, CORRECT, or CLARIFY. The write-up will be broken down to motor and year specific (non, vanos, dbl vanos). If something is e30 year spcific (ex. '84 318, part works; '86 325, same part dosen't work). If I can make this more clear for others great, I have to do it this way anyways. Thank you in advance for paving the way, I am no expert, that is who I am relying on.

This is my first part check back for updates, I'll gladly email combined parts as I combine them.

Europe has double vanos on some e36's; US is listed, but some parts are interchangeable.

M50 / S50

’92 NON-VANOS OBD-I
    ’93-’95 VANOS OBD-I

M52 / S52

’96 + VANOS OBD-II

’92-’95 M50: Least expensive motor, most available, needs modification to equal hp of S50 (can cost more than starting off with S50), cast iron block, aluminium head, cast iron exhaust manifold.

’95 S50: More hp for less modifications = more cost effective, possibility of valve spring retainer failer before 10/’95, 10/’95 and later has updated retainers, replacement part # same as old part but redesigned, cast iron block, aluminium head, cast iron exhaust manifold.

’96 + M52 / S52: Expensive, OBD-II should be switched to OBD-I, cast iron block, aluminium head, stainless steal headers.

’97-’98 Z3 M52: Most expensive, OBD-II should be switched to OBD-I, aluminium block, aluminium head, and stainless steal headers.
    bmpr stkr: real racers go left and right... so tru

There is only single vanos on the E36 motors.

Originally posted by DaveCN
    Welcome.

Your car is a piece of shit.

Most of them here are, too.

Comment

Thank you I'll correct it on the original thread. :D

Comment

Original post edited. :D

Comment

Originally posted by grapedrink
          There is only single vanos on the E36 motors.
          In the US.
          Im now E30less.