Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I used a Stock Brake booster with a m50 swap..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I used a Stock Brake booster with a m50 swap..

I am a newb on this forum, but not to BMWs and I though I would share my experience. So after much debate about using a porsche 944 booster, an ix booster, or 320 booster, I said F it and used the stock 1988 brake booster in a m50 swap. All I had to do was grind the back 4 fins on the intake manifold and raise the engine about 1/2" on the drivers side. NO FITMENT ISSUES AT ALL.. Drive shaft sits straight.. everything looks and runs good. Is there some kind of potential problem that I missed that someone may have done in the past similar to my setup? I don't see anything so far.. Only thing I "had" to do was use electric fans, but I was gonna do that anyway. Any input from this community would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

report back in 6 months.......
    Originally posted by 325Projectz
    don't listen to the diagram... listen to mr. swiss.
    :nice:

Comment

I used a stock booster as well, but I notched the holes to mount it onto the firewall. Moved it over an inch or so, along with shaving the fins on the intake manifold. I used to run 1/2" spacers I machined out of aluminum at a buddies house to raise the oil pan. I took them out the other day when I dropped in another m50 (since the other one blew up, stupid kinked coolant hose). Fits better now, but I never had any issues. You pretty much have to run an electric fan with a 24v swap, supposedly if you use a fan clutch it is incredibly close to the radiator and might hit.

90 325is alpine2 m50b25 becoming a dorifto car.

Comment

That's what I did. Just drilled 4 new holes and moved stock brake booster 1/2"
        I had to grind some of the fins on IM for better clearing. For the electric fan I think I want to use A/C fan but will see. Anyone have done it?