Rebuilding an S52

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rebuilding an S52

Hi R3V. I'm picking up an s52 to put in my e30. The engine is out of a 98' M3 and it has over 200k miles on it. I want to rebuild it, but I have zero knowledge on these 24v engines. My plan right now is to open it up and check the pistons, rods, bearings, camshaft, valves, etc. Basically inspect everything in the engine and I'm sure I'll have to replace some of those things, but I've been google searching write-ups on peoples engine rebuilds and so far I haven't come across anything that would be helpful. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Such as rotating assembly kits? Rods and pistons for a good price from somewhere? Honestly anyone's knowledge/opinion would help at this point.

Here's an old pic of the car for something to look at.
    -1987 325is coupe(SOLD)
    -1990 325i sedan

Originally posted by Dalejandrino View Post
    I've been google searching write-ups on peoples engine rebuilds and so far I haven't come across anything that would be helpful. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Such as rotating assembly kits? Rods and pistons for a good price from somewhere?
    I'm not sure exactly what you are looking for, but if it's info on how to disassemble, reconditioning and rebuilding the S52 engine, there's a plethora of info out there.

I know because I started my current engine build from a point were I had never removed the bottom end of an engine before. After reading and watching everything M50/M52/S50/S52/M54 engine building related, the whole process was a breeze once I started wrenching on my blocks.

Check out some of the following;

- This guy's insanely detail anatomical analysis of the M54

- pazi88 on YouTube is a guy from Finland with a pretty sweet E30 M52 Turbo build - look for the "M52 winter maintenance" video series. Overall it's pretty informative/ entertaining stuff for an owner-build car