Wetsand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wetsand

I wanna give my car a nice wetsand when spring comes about and do an overall outer cleaning, hopefully remove some of the acid rain marks in the clearcoat.

My question is, what product should I use after the sanding, to finish it off and get the shine back?

Im not very experienced with paint work, but I wanna have a go at it to see what I can do, it would be my last resort in trying to fix up my paint before getting a full respray. Any suggestions appreciated.
    1990 325ix

Yike's , I would suggest just buffing, with a product like accubuff ( I think that's what its called ) found at marine places for buffing boats , makes the gel caot look brand new ! Safer than wet scrathing IMOP...

Comment

Well from what I was reading in regards to the Acid Rain damage spots, they are about halfway in through the clearcoat. So I would need something abbraisive enough to eat away through the surface layers of the clearcoat.. which is why i was gonna do the wetsand..
      1990 325ix

Comment

I'm no expert on paint, but if you start working on spots! and only repair spots, I think you will see spots, No what I mean ?
        The problem with wet sanding is , once you start you preatty much have to do the hole car , and if ya do that , then you might as well re clear the whole car.
        So why wouldn't ya just get a respray ?

You can allways tell when a car has just had a fender,hood,door,what ever
        done !
        Try seeing if they will just buff out first, I have seen some nasty scratches
        and blems get buffed out !

Comment

I know what you mean, but it IS all over the whole car. At least all over the hood/roof/trunk. So I was gonna do the whole top. The only reason I was gonna try this was to save myself the cost of a respray, in case it actually worked.