First Maintenance on New E30 - Trunk Leaks & Rear Inner Arch Rust

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Maintenance on New E30 - Trunk Leaks & Rear Inner Arch Rust

I'm relatively new to working on cars and wanted to make a thread hoping to clarify a few things.

The car is mostly rust-free, but has some surface rust in the trunk due to water intrusion. The water gathers in the spare tire well.

My goal is to fix the leaking and sand/paint any areas of rust. Here are my questions:

1) I have a pint of leftover Brilliantrot paint that was used to respray the car a few years ago. Can I just use this paint for the rust spots? Just primer and then brush it on with a small paintbrush? I was thinking maybe I had to mix it with water or something... I've only used touch up paint and spray paint.

2) The surface rust in the trunk looks easy enough to sand and paint. However, I can tell that there is some corrosion directly forward of the battery box, in the "crevice," and also along the seam that makes up the rear wheel arch. My question is how difficult would this be to cut and weld... seems more difficult than the battery box. Is it made more accessible with the battery box cut away? I don't see how to get at it without cutting the quarter panel. Come to think of it, I can't even see or feel the area I'm talking about.

FWIW, there really isn't THAT much rust I'm talking about. The battery box definitely has some and so does part of the arch area, but it's not very extensive. That said, I don't want it to spread. Especially here in Houston where it's so humid that even glass rusts.

Gah, body work sucks.
    Last edited by c0rbin9; 05-24-2016, 08:54 PM.
    1991 318is Brillantrot daily driver (slow restoration)

Pictures would help.
    sigpic
    1987 325e Lachssilber w/ MarkD chip and late bumpers, Zender EVO spoiler, s3.25 LSD

Originally posted by nando
    I don't think there's really strong evidence that ZDDP harms cats.

Comment