Help me keep stock look but upgrade sound quality

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me keep stock look but upgrade sound quality

I currently have the stock cass deck in my 91 318i, I don't care too much about having a CD changer or not, I prefer to use an MP3 player so an 1/8th inch AUX input would be perfect.

I would consider new(ew) OEM deck, small sub, amp, and speaker upgrades. I would like to keep it relatively low budget because I don't see the utility of investing big money in a $2500 car.

I have limited experience with amps, and I don't know what the stock deck I have has for input/outputs on it so I don't know if a amp would work with the stock deck, any help would be appreciated.
    1991 318i (RIP) / 1996 Dakota / 2000 2.5RS

Would either the C33 or the C43 decks be a noticeable upgrade over my stock unit?

Comment

crickets....

How can I hook an amp up to a stock deck?

Comment

change your deck first man, then see how you like your highs. once you change your deck, it will make life a lot easier for ANY other audio upgrades. otherwise, you are going to be dealing w/ line output convertors to add an aftermarket amp (which will still sound like crap, just louder crap). In order to get a form of an input, you will have to use an fm modulater, which sounds like crap as well. The deck is your weakpoint, change it.

Comment

Originally posted by automatic View Post
          I currently have the stock cass deck in my 91 318i, I don't care too much about having a CD changer or not, I prefer to use an MP3 player so an 1/8th inch AUX input would be perfect.

I would consider new(ew) OEM deck, small sub, amp, and speaker upgrades. I would like to keep it relatively low budget because I don't see the utility of investing big money in a $2500 car.