Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Alpine Sub/Amp Power

Hey all,

So my co-worker has an Alpine 2-channel amp that suppositely does 180x2. He used it in his Talon for a while and he powered an Alpine Type-S. Since I want an Alpine 10" Type-R, I'm probably going to just buy the amp off of him. Suppositely, for an Alpine Type-R, you need atleast 300 watts? There wouldn't be any problem if I just had both channels to the one 10" sub, would there? So instead of 180x2, it would be 360x1, enough to power the 10" sub? I'm going to ask him around... 200 or so for the amp, I don't really know what I should ask from him because I'm not too experienced with this kind of stuff. Should I offer a higher price? Lower price? I'm not going to get the 10" Type-S off of him, that's not good enough for me :)
    '91 E30 M42 DIAMANTSCHWARZ

Need the model number. It will only be 4-ohms stable if you bridge (the term for putting 2 channels into 1) the amp, so you would have to get the dual 2-ohm Type-R and have it run in parallel. You don't need at least 300rms for the R at all, it just sounds the best at that level. Also note that although he claims the amp is 2x180, I highly doubt that is an RMS figure, if it was he would have long blown that Type-S (they suck), not to mention am amp with that kind of power is quite pricey.

But yeah, get a model number and I'll tell you what it's worth and if it's a good idea for your setup.

Comment

Yeah, I'm working with him today so he said he would bring the model number for me and everything.

Oh, and for the price that I'm going to offer him, it's in $CDN.

So I'm hoping with the purchase of the amp from him, I can just buy the sub and enclosure and then get the install.