Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Central locking, please diagnose this...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Central locking, please diagnose this...

Alright, yesterday I replace my driver's door lock actuator with a brand new one from BMA, and I seem to be having similar situation before and after the fact. Since I am an electrical newb and know very little about the central locking in my E30 I will describe the situation door-by-door.

Driver's door: When I lock it, the driver's door will lock, all other doors lock but immeadiately unlock and I hear a grinding/buzzing noise from the driver's rear door. A friend and I think it may just be in need of a new lock cylinder, as it is unable to single lock (only double lock). It is also very difficult to turn the key. I am going to try some lock lube this evening and see if it is any easier to turn.

Passenger's door: When I try to lock it, all door lock and then immeadiately unlock.

Driver's rear door: Locks/unlocks normally but I hear the aforementioned grinding/buzzing noise.

Passenger's rear door: Locks/unlocks normally.

Trunk: When I lock it, all doors immeadiately unlock.

Fuel door: Locks/unlocks normally.

From what I gather, it is one or more of the following:

Driver's rear door lock actuator
    Central locking control unit
    Driver's door lock cylinder
    Some other electrical custerfuck
    Possibly a bent rod/arm in one or more doors

I located a VERY helpful piece of information regarding the central locking system and how it works, refer to below link.

We specialize in parts and accessories for BMW and Porsche, and have items for Mercedes and Audi available.We offer monthly specials for our net customers, and feature online catalogs with secure online ordering. We have real time chat, an interactive bulletin board and BMW service FAQS.