M20 Water pump and Thermo DIY?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M20 Water pump and Thermo DIY?

Does anyone have a DIY to a thermostat and waterpump on an m20.

I was driving today and out of the middle of nowhere the car started to slowly heat up, this never had happend before. I managed to get it home, but now i need to diagnose the problem. It seemed to be leaking coolant from the rear (by the ifre wall) of the motor. Could it just be a line leaking so coolant is not getting to the motor?

ck out bimmerdiy or pelicanparts for wp diys. Dunno why you'd need a tstat diy -- hardest part about it is bleeding the cooling system afterwards, and that's simple simon.

There is one heater hose running from the rear of the block to the firewall.
    The current fleet:
    1992 325ic: 148k-171k miles
    1999 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 4WD, 114k-142k miles
    1984 MasterCraft Stars and Stripes Powerslot (not a car :D) PCM Ford 351W, 904 hours

Comment

I'm relatively new to BMW's and M20's, but here's what i would do:

Iddle the car until it gets to its operating temp and look around for any leaks, or drips.
      I would first replace the thermostat, since its somewhere around $18 and easy to do: drain some coolant pull off the hose going to the housing, 3 10mm bolts remove the thermostat housing cover to open it up and replace the thermostat and rubber o-ring.
      Then I would check the temp gauge...did you notice the temp gauge needle pulsating? did you whack the dash a little and see the gauge needle would move to a different reading? I have a faulty gauge in my car and it almost gave me a heart attack while driving on the highway...I whacked it and it went to normal. I am currently figuring out the reason for that on my car...anyway...