BMW injecting oil? Please help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BMW injecting oil? Please help.

(This exact post can be found on dtmpower.net forums, but I wanted to spread it in hope of help!)

Hey guys. I am new to forums, been driving my 1986 325e for about half a year now, and ofcourse I love it. I live in Greensboro NC, and I don't quite know forum rules but stick with me please .

I am an amateur mechanic, and I have a problem. I dont know if I'm posting this thread in the right place but I am asking for help and for a few minutes of your time if possible.

I am leaking crazy amounts of oil. Not outside my engine. No. Somehow, oil is getting into all 6 of my cylinders and killing my plugs. I do not know how it gets there, or how much gets there, but when I use fresh plugs (killing them instantly after a few hours) I burn oil, and there are oil deposits on the destroyed plugs after removal.
    Here's how I have tried to solve it so far:
    1. Tried running seafoam.--I hypothesize this actually helps temporarily, but I have no proof.
    2. Replaced spark plugs. atleast 4 times (1 time per try of new strategy to fix car)
    3. Replaced valve cover gasket and rocker bushing thingys (for the heck of it)
    4. Spent 7 grueling hours (ran into a few funny snags) changing my head gasket. Cleaned cylinders out. Much oil deposit on pistons.
    5. Screamed at it.
    6. Threatened to trade it in for a e36.
    7. Apologized.

I think it could be coming from my manifold. How the oil gets into my manifold I dont know, but I think this because it gets injected into all 6 cylinders, which pretty much rules out all 18 piston rings breaking, and all the valve seals dying.

I actually spoke to a mechanic, and I disagree with him. He could be right. No offence to him, he is a very skilled mechanic, especially on E30 models, but I think he doesnt understand the problem. Then he would overcharge me for something I could do my self.