Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

M30 help, using 027 AFM w/ 179 ECU possible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

M30 help, using 027 AFM w/ 179 ECU possible?

So, I got my M30 swap up and running and it has a real high idle. After it warms up to 150*F, it starts to have a loping idle. If I slightly unplug the AFM, it idles normally, but pushing the throttle makes it stutter then rev. Power seems limited as well.

I used my late model M20 harness and I have a 179 ECU and a 027 afm. I'm thinking there's some reversed wires on the afm plug.

Expert help greatly appreciated as I'm no electrician.
    Support my E30 addiction! Buy my Wideband/Voltmeter Check Panels
    HERE

1990 Flachalpinweiß 335i

When I say slightly unplug, I mean that I believe part of the plug is still plugged in allowing the afm to operate partially.
    HERE

1990 Flachalpinweiß 335i

Comment

Is the 027 AFM the e34 one? If not, the easiest thing to do is grab an AFM from an e32 / e34 and it will be plug and play with the M20 harness.
      My e30: OEM+ with M30B35

Comment

It is. I pulled it with the motor.
        HERE

1990 Flachalpinweiß 335i

Comment

which TPS you using?
          Originally posted by flyboyx
          i have watched my dog lick himself off a few times

Comment

M30 B35 that was on the motor when I pulled it. Known to be working. I read a lot of threads where people had a similar issue and they checked the TPS, but none really ever reported that as the issue. With the AFM unplugged it idles well but seems rich and throttle response is horrible.
            HERE

1990 Flachalpinweiß 335i

Comment

Afaik you need to reverse your tps signal wires, as your m20 harness is currently reading the tps signal as wot with a m30 tps and 179 ecu.

I ran into a similar issue with my swap.

Others may be able to clarify a little more in detail. I'm still half asleep
              Originally posted by flyboyx