Won't shift into 2nd, 4th

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Won't shift into 2nd, 4th

1984 318. Just bought it and shifts into R, 1, 3, 5 fine but seems like its not getting full range of motion and wont shift into 2nd or 4th. Can this just be bushings or mounts? or signs of something worse? http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...93&hg=25&fg=05
    #7, the 'stop buffer' is shot and is allowing the whole plate to move side to side a lot. I tightened up everything else but it still doesnt seem like its getting enough range of motion to get into the 2nd and 4th gears. What can I do to figure out if my gears are bad orrrr what should I do??
    Originally posted by merrrr
    im just a nigga that loves titties

RIP

is there an adjustment anywhere?

RIP

Comment

I'm no tranny expert but IIRC 2nd and 4th are on the same shaft. maybe thats damaged or something. I think that requires a new tranny or a pro to work on it. I'm scared to crack open a tranny.

Comment

anyone have any ideas!?

RIP

Comment

this same shit happend to me years ago on my ix. The shift linkage was cracked.
          [IMG]http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/

Comment

1+2 are on the same shaft and fork, and 3+4 share a shaft and fork.

Your problem sounds like a linkage or support failure, not something inside the transmission.

Comment

It may, or may not apply, to a Getrag 240 transmission, but on a Getrag 260 if the shift rod is installed on the wrong side of the shifter and selector rod it will hit the transmission when you attempt to engage 2nd & 4th. If anyone has done any work on the shifter recently that could be something to check out. Otherwise I'd suspect shifter bushings first.
              The car makes it possible, but the driver makes it happen.
              Jim Levie, Huntsville, AL

Comment