Rear End LSx

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rear End LSx

Just bought a 89 325i and am a complete NEWB to BMW's in general, but not to LSx's.

Car is getting a LM7 (5.3) and a 4l80e Auto trans, going to be using the Sikky kit and will figure out the trans bracket myself. Car will be getting a big turbo and making 7-800 whp. So trying to figure out what I need to do to make sure my rear end can hold the power, need any suggestions.

Probably the 210mm diff rather than the medium case 188mm, a set of dss axles, and reinforced trailing arms.

Comment

Does the car need a "big turbo" to hit 700-800 on that motor? Doesn't sound enjoyable!
      Big diff, dual ear diff conversion and whatever is mentioned above too I would say.

1991 325iS turbo

Comment

stock rear end and 195's lol
        91 e30 318is M50 SOLD
        http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=149570
        92 325 vert project
        http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=341370

Comment

With dual mounting ears, 94mm CV's and reinforced trailing arms, the 188 diff you have now *should* handle up to 500. Going to a 210mm diff in an E30 is a little tough as the case is very rare. It was only used in E23 745i turbos which were not imported to the US, E24 M6's and E28 M5's.

Comment

Originally posted by The Dark Side of Will View Post
            With dual mounting ears, 94mm CV's and reinforced trailing arms, the 188 diff you have now *should* handle up to 500. Going to a 210mm diff in an E30 is a little tough as the case is very rare. It was only used in E23 745i turbos which were not imported to the US, E24 M6's and E28 M5's.

This is helpful, what is the best but easiest to find diff, sounds like the 210mm is going to be hard to source, what is the next step down..

anyone make prefabed dual mounting ears or is this something i need to fab. Also what are the 94mm CV's out of?

Comment