Some gauges are dead?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some gauges are dead?

So the other day when I turned on my car, all my gauges except for the speedometer just died...they all moved when the car was turned on, then just fell back. Oddly, my speedometer is still working thankfully. I can't figure out what my problem might be. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Parker
    '91 Brilliantrot 318iS - Sold
    '95 e34 s50 Touring - P/O
    '87 Alpine White 325iS - Current

What have you already checked?
    Mtech1 v8 build thread - https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...d.php?t=413205

OEM v8 manual chip or dme - https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho....php?p=4938827

Comment

Basically just my fuses. those seem to all be working...And the fact that the speedometer works still is strange to me. I'm not very good with these kinds of things.

Comment

Plug another cluster in to verify that the problem is in the cluster (which it almost definitely will be). Borrow one from a friend or pick one up at the pick and pull. It's good to have spare parts clusters.

Or just take your cluster apart and check out the SI batteries. There's a good chance that those are toast and they took the board out when they died. They like to leak corrosive acid all over the SI board, which contains a bunch of connections and solder joints for the cluster functions.

Good luck, have fun. For what it's worth, I do these repairs all the time and they are actually almost fun if you are into technical stuff. These cars tend to have issues with the clusters from time to time. even if it's something as small as the odometer gears crapping out. Might as well get used to it.

Comment

I'm 17, I hate doing this kind of technical stuff. Buuut if thats what this calls for, then I'll do it.

Comment

Originally posted by Beastolizer View Post
            I'm 17, I hate doing this kind of technical stuff. Buuut if thats what this calls for, then I'll do it.