Engine knocking/squealing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine knocking/squealing

First let me say I own a 1991 318is and I'm no mechanic but can do most of the basics (oil, brakes, belts, and rotors change).

The other day I started my car and heard a slight knocking sound coming from the motor. I then checked the oil and it showed a little less than half on the dipstick. I didn't think too much of it since I was planning to drive home (22miles drive) to change my oil anyways and I didn't think it matter much if it was slightly less than half. While driving home that day, I didn't hear any knocking at all.

Before starting my oil change, I parked the car for a few hours and didn't drive anywhere till I had to drive my brother to the bus stop which was 4 blocks away. So while I was driving, I heard noises coming from the motor but this time it was louder. When I got home and parked my car in the driveway, I notice that the knockings sound got louder and this time I also heard squealing sound like a loose belt.

So I decided to let the engine cool off and change the oil in hopes that my problems will go away. I also took off my AC belt, thinking that the squealing is probably coming from that since I did install the belt not too long ago. After completing my oil change and removal of the belt, I started the engine and the squealing got even loud and it idles rougher than before. I notice after i changed the oil, my fan clutch spun very slow and then all of a sudden stopped. I then turned off the motor and started it again and the problem was the same but this time the fan clutch didn't spin at all.