Fuel pump dying?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fuel pump dying?

Before I spend the money on a new fuel pump, I am hoping someone can offer some incite into my issue. I have an apparently common e30 problem: a quick blip of the throttle causes the engine to dip then it catches but then dip again before leveling off at idle. With my rear seats and cover plate removed, I can hear the buzz of the fuel pump dip when I hit the gas. I don't think it's the relay.

TIA!

Search this forum please. Im a noob compared to EVERYBODY here and i know all of the answers you are looking for, BY SEARCHING.

Common mistake: simply throw parts at the car.
    Another common mistake: post a thread without searching.

Smoke test the car or else you're wasting time.

SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON SEARCH BUTTON

Comment

If after your search, if you cannot resolve your problem, state model and year of E30, it really does help.

Comment

I've actually searched the hell out of this issue. The problem is there are 100 different answers, but nothing definitive. Before jumping into new parts, I wonder if anyone can diagnose this specific problem. I've already changed the plugs, o2 sensor, injectors, fuel filter, ICV, and cleaned the fuel pump mesh. I have had a smoke test done with no leaks. The TPS was giving me problems, but I adjusted it so I hear it click now and it idles fine. Car is a 1991 325i m20 engine

Check out this video for the exact same symptoms I am having.
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa2HnJ4EYgg

thanks!
        Last edited by thayerplay; 10-20-2012, 10:36 AM.

Comment