Helicoils?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Helicoils?

Anyone here used a helicoil to fix a pwnt spark plug hole? Do they work as a long term replacement?

I have no experience actually using them, but guys here at work have, and they say they work great for spark plug holes. I use them in a lot of parts I design, and they are actually stronger than a tapped thread.
    -Brandon
    '86 325es S50
    '12 VW GTI Autobahn DSG
    '03 540i M-Sport (sold)
    '08 Jeep SRT-8 (sold)

For sale:
    S50 TMS chip for Schricks

Comment

Well i'll let you know how it goes, hehe.

Comment

Timecert > Helicoil.

E30 ABS Pump Refurbishment Service
        https://mtechniqueauto.com/

Comment

Originally posted by Jordan
          Timecert > Helicoil.
          Timecert cost > Helicoil cost

Comment

Timecert- the shit. the shop uses them on EVERYTHING, as they are much better than stock threads in an alum. head.

Its worth the cost, seriously. helicoils are weak and will eventually strip out again.

but then again, this is r3v. so, just wrap your sparkplugs in ducttape and that should hold 'em in place long enough.

kyle
            1988 M3, 97 840, 99 XJ
            DILLIGAF

Comment

Originally posted by bimmer8604
              just wrap your sparkplugs in ducttape and that should hold 'em in place long enough.
              that's what i do.
              -----Zen and the Art of e30 Maintenance - / - Zen TOC - / - Zen Summary

Comment

Originally posted by MrTom
                Timecert cost > Helicoil cost
                Like BMW's you get what you pay for.
                E30 325ix 62k

Comment

but then again, this is r3v. so, just wrap your sparkplugs in ducttape and that should hold 'em in place long enough.

kyle
                  But wouldnt you want to use electical tape? You know, cause of the electricity? :p

How much would a timesert cost to have installed if i just took the head somewhere that could do it?

Comment

Originally posted by Jordan