Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is my fuel pump on it's way out or something else?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is my fuel pump on it's way out or something else?

Hi R3v community, I'm new to E30 knowledge, looked around but couldn't find a problem like mine, so here goes.

Is it possible for the low pressure in-tank "transfer" fuel pump to fail/malfunction and the car still be able to run solely from the external high pressure in-line fuel pump [I replaced this a few months ago when the car crapped out on me a few times, which resolved the issues of poor mpg and no start], it just ends up working harder? I own a '87 325is, an early model as I have discovered 06/87 (Sealed-headlight beams, dual fuel pump system, etc...)

I just feel as though my car isn't pulling as much as it can, lack of power. Although it's been a little more then a week since any occurrence. Story from the beginning after going on a dyno test, car was running fine. On the free way cruising roughly 2000-25000 RPM going 65mph car hesitated, noticed that the MPG needle dropped but regained itself again same as the Tachometer. I thought something was up but was able to make it home. Later in the day it got worse, I was driving as usual then suddenly when I would go in Neutral or let my foot off the pedal the car was surging. I pulled over and shut off the car, when I started it again it stopped, but ended up happening again later in the day. After that the car started hesitating as if not enough fuel was being pumped, began rocking back and forth but the car wouldn't shut off as long as I held the RPM above 1000, below that the car would shut off. I pulled over and shut off the car, when I started it again it started up fine. But the same symptoms would occur again the longer the car was on, occasionally slight hesitation when down revving from 2500 RPM (which through on the CEL on for less then a second then off), idle surging would start.