timing belt 89 325i

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

timing belt 89 325i

Can anyone give me some advice/pointers on a timing belt change. i have never done a timing belt before and i know how important it is. i have ordered all the parts and i am just waiting for them to arrive. i have read a few things like...

timing belt goes on counter clockwise. is this true.

Also what do i need to do with the tensioner once the t-belt is installed. Do i use the spring for initial tension and then turn the motor (by hand) and then tighten the tensioner? I am just not clear and a bit apprehensive in doing this job. I am not a complete noob i have don struts, wheel bearings, mufflers, diffs. Just want to make sure i do it properly b/c i dont want to ruin my engine. thanks Matt

my best advice to you is to get a bentley manual for the e30

you basically take everything off the front of the engine pull off the old tbelt slide on the knew one, making sure you keep the timing correct of course, then you turn the engine over 720degrees then you tighten the tensioner.

thats a very quick description of it, they go into much more detail in the bentley
    Your signature picture has been removed since it contained the Photobucket "upgrade your account" image.

Originally posted by TimKninja
    Im more afraid of this thread turning into one of those classic R3v moments, where Pizza gets delivered.

Comment

some people can do the t-belt without taking the radiator out but I can't. bentley for sure will help you out. good luck.
      Originally posted by Hawt drift chick
      Yeah, i'm a good dude i swear, i just like to be balls to the wall.

Comment