Hood alignment / gaps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hood alignment / gaps?

Don't even know if this counts as being "technical", it appears too complex for me... ugh... it's pissing me off. I tried to realign the hood cause the passengers side wasn't lining up quite right where the hood meets the fender and grill near the low-beams. It sat back farther than the driver side.

So I got that spot figured out only to find out that the gaps along the fenders are now pretty uneven... :roll:

Anyone have an easy method of describing what needs to be done / adjusted? Which adjustment spots do what? I feel like a noob, but I messed around with it for like 30 minutes and got frustrated

Am I the only retard that can't seem to get this right?
    Brandon

I'm no expert, but if I'm understanding this right, it sounds like the hood alignment was fine, and it was the fender that needed effing around with.

Would probably have a better idea with pics.
    '84 318i - Lapisblau/Schwarz (in cryosleep)
    '06 330i - Titansilber/Schwarz

Comment

Yeah, without pictures I can understand how it would be difficult to figure out exactly what I'm talking about.

I'll try again w/o pics and if it's still not understandable then I'll just have to get some pics when i get home.

So if you looked at the front of our cars from about the level of where the hood meets the grills, the fenders on either side curve up and along the grills to the corner of the hood. My problem was that my pass. side hood corner was pushed back and the drivers side was stuck out.

After messing around with it, I found the right sets of nuts to loosen to get it all aligned at the corners, but now the gaps between the fenders (both sides) are not right. I think... if I am remembering correctly... the pass. side has a larger gap near the grill getting smaller towards the windshield, and the drivers side is opposite (larger gap near the windshield getting smaller / tighter at the grill area).