Car Won't Start... Fuel Pump maybe?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Car Won't Start... Fuel Pump maybe?

About a week ago I let my car get too low on gas (just got the car wasn't familiar with how long I could run on empty... computer said 30 miles left) and I ran out of gas on the freeway. It's pretty dry but AAA bails me out. Woops!

Now, last night I'm driving down the road and the gas pedal becomes on and off, like touch it slightly and it's almost floored and take it off and it jerks to a stop. I coast into a parking lot and the car dies.

Now I try to start it... it turns on fine idles and then dies. I put in some gas hoping that was my problem and it seemed like it was maybe going to start but no luck. I tried pumping the pedal and stuff and it just dies out.

So I'm wondering if I burned out the pump or if the filter is clogged?
    Originally posted by z31maniac
    I just hate everyone.

No need for discretion.

I am no expert, and I am having a similar issue getting my car to start as well. Have you tried turning the key to the on-position (but not starting) and listening for the pump? When I did that at first I could hear the pump make noise and I thought my pump was ok(but I have heard that it could make a noise that sounds like it is about to die)...well now it doesn't make any noise at all. I am not sure if it is because of the wiring(relay w/e) or the pump just went bad.
    Tbolt Division

All I'm saying dude is that bird law in this country...it's not governed by reason.

Comment

I tried listening for the pump but I could not hear anything. I will go check again, I really don't know what I'm listening for.

Is the pump in the gas tank or somewhere easier to get to on these cars?
      I just hate everyone.

No need for discretion.

Comment

I just tried to start it after letting it sit for the night and it revs up to 2k and then dies.

Still didn't hear a fuel pump noise.
        I just hate everyone.

No need for discretion.