Aproximate cost of rear subframe swap?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aproximate cost of rear subframe swap?

Hi -- My own car has rusty trailing arms, and I have a parts car with a clean rear subframe. One of my rear bearings is bad, and it needs to be replaced, so I thought the time is right to swap the whole subframe. I'd have new trailing arm bushings put in, and also new "coke can" subframe bushings put in. I might even have a 3.46 LSD diff put in. Assuming I have the parts (I'd have my parts car towed to the shop for extraction and gutting), what would the approximate cost be for a mechanic to do this all, say at an independent BMW shop?

I am just learning and while I can do rear shocks, the whole subframe thing scares me. Another thought I had was to just replace the traling arms themselves one-at-a-time at my house, but even then it looks like I would have to mess with the brakes, parking brake, lots of touch bolts, etc.

Thks in advance.
    '86 325 original owner for 20 years * SOLD *
    '86 325es * SOLD *
    '05 Honday Odyssey Minivan.

Marvin, do not be afraid. It is a parts car, right? SO go to Harbor Freight, but some "Dollies" so you can move the thing when you are done.

Remove the E-brake cables from the handle, adn start removing bolts!

E30's are so easy to work on, you will end up victorius.

At the very least, by yanking your old subframe, you will know more of what you can do.

Luke

Closing SOON!
    "LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!

Comment

Yank the whole subframe, it's not that hard. It is however VERY heavy (subframe, diff, trailing arms, brakes, all one big thing) so be careful.

Comment

Now to unconnect the subframe though, don't you need to remove those coke-can shaped subframe support bearings, and to get them out, you practically need a blow-torch?