Critique my setup!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Critique my setup!

I bought my first e30 5 months ago, so I'm still new to the game. I apologize for the noob questions. My goal is to make her a fun daily. Once I've finished the swap, I might take her to the track, but it's more of an afterthought right now.

What I got:

- 1988 325is auto (I have an S50 and g260 ready to swap in after I sort out
    the suspension)
    - Billy Sports
    - H&R Race
    - Z3 rack

I want to replace as much as I can while I'm at it, so here's what I think I need:

- Blunttech suspension rebuild kit:
    control arms and bushings, tie rod assemblies, trailing arm bushings, F&R
    sway bar end links, rear subframe mounts, and locking tabs
    - AKG Rear subframe and diff mount bushing set 85A, part: #SFDS308
    - Rear shock mounts
    Do I need 10mm or 12mm?

Is there anything I'm missing?

...and can anyone provide some input on drop hats vs camber plates? With this setup, would I need to get camber plates?

Comment

you won't need camber plates with h&r races. i'm running h&r race, drophats with 205/50/15 tires. for shock mounts the lifetime ones from Bimmerworld for $40 are nice. do your strut bearings while in there.
      Last edited by meengreene30; 09-20-2013, 09:43 PM.
      sigpic

Comment

front pic
        Attached Files
        sigpic

Comment

Good advice. Thanks for your help

Comment

I did do camber plates with mine (also have drop hats). I did this to reduce excesive inner tire wear on the front tires. I also added the rear toe/camber kit when I rebuilt the rear subframe and all related components. With the H&R race springs you will also benefit from offset control arm bushings up front.

A bunch of negative camber looks cool and handles well, but will destroy tires when street driven. To answer your question, camber plates are not required, but I would recommend.