Seafoam FTW!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seafoam FTW!

Ok. I have heard many good things about Seafoam and I have been staring at the can on my desk for about 6 months. Well today I finally used it and I must say, OH WHAT A FEELING!

I ran it through my beater Nissan minivan with the 3.0 ford engine and it drives like a new car! Well maybe not a NEW car but I can feel the difference. Per the instructions, I drove the car and warmed it up and then I poured 1/3 of the can into a plastic cup (about 5oz.)

At first I yanked off the vaccuum hose that sits right next to the throttle plate and buried it into the seafoam and it immediately stalled the engine. I figured that might have been a bad spot so I restarted the engine and then used the brake booster hose. And then this time I gradually let the hose "sip" the seafoam from the top until it was all sucked in and then I shut it off.

The instructions say to restart the engine in 5 minutes but I got tied up on a phone call and the car sat for about a half-hour. I went back out and restarted the car and it started idling VERY rough! (up until this point the beater ran OK and it did not give me any problems with rough idle or stalling or anything like that.) OH CRAP! I thought I messed up my engine because it was hard to start and it stalled a couple of times and the motor was shaking.

My guess at first was that because the engine was so badly abused that the seafoam must have dislodged some dirt or deposits that got into a part of the engine that it should not have gotten into. But I drove the car for a couple of miles, and after a while the rumbling started to calm down and I had a chance to pull over into a parking lot to re-read the can in case I overlooked an important step. I got out, popped the hood and I noticed that the engine was quieter than it has been.