Introduction, New to R3V

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Introduction, New to R3V

Hey everyone, new to the forum, thought I would introduce myself & my E30. This is my 3rd E30 over the years, but like my 10th BMW, so I'm not a complete noob ;) I'm looking forward to getting involved here, especially pertaining to motorsports & competition, as that has been my passion for almost 20 years.

I picked this car up a little over a year ago as a commuter, it's a rare slick-top 91 318i 4-door with factory 4.10 limited slip. Other than a few dings, this car is pretty clean & original, with an almost flawless interior. I'm just now starting to upgrade it, I'm planning to transform it in to a light-weight canyon-carver/occasional BMWCCA Class-A autocrosser without sacrificing it's daily-driver/commuter abilities. On the menu are light 15x8s with 225/45 RS3s, either Konis or Billies with H&R race springs, big bars, custom exhaust, Mark D chip, etc. I will update this post as I go along through the build, my goal is to provide an easy-to-duplicate alternative to the traditional FWD Honduh. When done it will be an in-expensive 30 MPG RWD commuter that also handles incredibly, is a great joy to drive, & can also win weekend competitions.

I have autocrossed competitively in a variety of cars with the SCCA, but mostly in Miatas for the past 5 years or so. I'm in a borrowed Miata this season for National events, but I'm watching the proposed street touring re-organization very closely because I really want to build a competitive E30...either my current 318i, or possibly a 325is. Most feel they cannot be competitive in the SCCA, I want to prove them wrong

Here is a picture of my car currently, the wheels/tires/suspension will be going on the car in the next week, more updates to follow! Take care everyone, thanks for reading!
    Attached Files
    Mark Scroggs

1985 528e 5-spd Cosmosblau
    1988 325i/a 4D Bronzitbeige
    2013 Ford Focus ST SCCA GS #49