Repairing window motors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Repairing window motors

I've been sorting out some electrical issues, and throwing some money at the cars lately. So I figured it was time to start a thread, after all who doesn't enjoy watching other people spend money?

Seriously, maybe a few others have travelled these roads before, had the same problems and this thread will be helpful. Electrical issues can be aggravating and can tarnish the enjoyment of an older vehicle. I'm new to e30's but no stranger to classic cars, but that's another story.

Anyhow, I finally figured out what was going on with the inoperable window motors.

Background: The supply of window regulators seems to be drying up, and those available online are typically over $100, even for refurbished.

In my research, I read the 87-91 regulators were different than the earlier design, and the motors themselves would not interchange either. But curiosity got the better of me and I had to see for myself.

Note: 87 on the left
    Attached Files
    1985 318i - M20B25 5-spd swap
    1986 325e - "302i" 5.0L T5-spd swap

Clearly the external drive gear is different, but maybe, just maybe the motor would work? Well, the worm gear does in fact have a different pitch so that was kind of a waste of money, but it led to an interesting discovery.

Note: earlier model above
    Attached Files

Comment

The stator in the failed motor seemed to turn, but it was being held in place by some unknown mechanism. How complicated could it be?!

After removing the cap with the brushes, it was time to apply a little "persuasion".
      Attached Files

Comment

The stator came out along with with the lower bushing.
        Attached Files

Comment

The bushing had seized onto the stator shaft. How to remove that bushing? A little more persuasion, this time using a piece of brass rod, to prevent damage to the end of the stator shaft.
          Attached Files

Comment