Anyone work in the financial world?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone work in the financial world?

Just curious to see if anyone on here is in the field of finance and investing.
    If so, and you're willing to share... what is your occupation, what you studied in college, and do you enjoy what you do?

I myself am a college student who's trying to gain some perspective. I'm currently a sophomore, starting to look into summer internships, and want to pursue a career in finance out of college.

Appreciate any insight that anyone has to offer, personal stories too.

Cheers, and happy holidays!
    Last edited by freeride53; 12-23-2012, 01:32 PM.

1991 BMW 318i (Old Shell RIP, Now Being Re-shelled & Reborn)
    1983 Peugeot 505 STI
    1992 Volvo 240 Wagon
    2009 Toyota 4Runner SR5 Sport 4WD

I took two semesters of finance at Rutgers University as some may know on this forum.

I did not like it, nor did i like the career opportunities. my classes were OK at best. A lot of theory and calculus knowledge being used. a good amount of formula memorization, a lot of which you do not need in real jobs. While at school, I had an internship at a audit firm which was incredibly boring.

A lot of the early career opportunities are in number crunching and balance sheet balancing. I could not imagine doing that for the rest of my life. Though, the money is good, and careers are plenty. I just can't deal with numbers and that stress for the rest of my life, much less more than a year of it at school.

Now im in another business sector, marketing. If you're a people person, it is much better than finance/accounting. I'm not sure how i would expect myself to be at a desk for the rest of my work life.

if you like numbers and can visualize theory in calc, finance may be for you. Investments was my favorite class. that was the most real life info you'll get.