Any teachers on here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any teachers on here?

At one point in college I thought about studying to become a middle school or highschool teacher, mostly math. This feeling is still there at times. Are there any teachers on r3v who'd be willing to share their experiences, persuade or disuade me from it?
    My Feedback

I'm a high school history teacher and I think its the greatest job ever!

When I was just starting out in student teaching, my mentor told me that once I finished my first year of teaching and had 2.5 months of summer off, I would never go back to a 12 month job again (and boy was she right!)

You won't become a millionaire through teaching alone, but I feel the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. There is so much to do, so many interactions each day, there's always something new/different going on. I was always bored at many other jobs prior to teaching because it seemed as though many jobs are monotonous, where teaching presents many opportunities for variety daily.

If you are interested, go for it, however, I will tell you that if you go into a teaching program, it will probably suck to some extent and you will feel like most of it is self-explanatory or absolutely obvious, just get through it so you can get into the classroom and start the real work. Just remember, you are always learning, even after years of teaching.

PM me if you have more specific questions about any of it, I'm happy to help.

Matt

Comment