Moving to portland any pointers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving to portland any pointers?

I am tryig to move to portland oregon from central nj by september. I fired some applications to about 5 jobs based in portland. However thr housing status now is nearly non existant.

Can anyone recommend a place in portland affordable (<600$ month), safe, close to work (basic auto shops since im a mechanic. Applied to the lithia dealers), has some liveliness, etc?

Never even more west then central pa and was just looking for some input.

Never been there. Always wanted to visit though.

Drink good beer, they have lots.
    sigpic

Comment

Watch Portlandia for an accurate account of what it's like.

Comment

You're going to be a 20-30min drive from downtown for rent in that range if you want something that's not a total dump/unsafe.

Westside suburbs are probably your best bet - Beaverton/Tigard.
        Originally posted by Gruelius
        and i do not know what bugg brakes are.

Comment

^ This. Downtown PDX is pretty expensive. Beaverton/Tigard "isn't that bad". My girlfriend at the time moved there for school. Plus you can just hop on the MAX (Portland's public transit) and be downtown pretty quick. I love Portland, tons of good food and beer, titty bars galore, little too liberal for my liking but, it's a pretty legit place.

Comment

Originally posted by ST1G View Post
            this. http://www.hulu.com/portlandia
            Originally posted by Matt-B
            hey does anyone know anyone who gets upset and makes electronics?

Comment

Yeah, not really.

Check out Vancouver (WA), too. We just moved up here, and Vancouver is much cheaper to live in, and a short trip into PDX. It takes us 20 minutes to be over I5 and into downtown.

Comment

all these move to the PNW threads are starting to get to me man! I love rain!

Comment

Originally posted by Jand3rson View Post