Help me choose a good starter bike

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me choose a good starter bike

Well, in a short time I will be given the privilege of being able to drive for 12 hours a day. I have to have a "statement of financial responsibility" (SR-22) to get a license; which simply means I have to have insurance. I am going to be using a motorcycle as my primary mode of transportation for financial reasons. I've always wanted to have a motorcycle, but now I just need to have one.

So anyways, I'm a noob to motorcycles. I've driven a few of my friend's dirt bikes on a number of different occasions so I can handle one okay, but I have never driven one on the street. I know I'll need to get endorsed and learn how to ride safely among all of the stupid drivers.

So I am wondering what you would recommend for a good first bike. I obviously don't need anything all that powerful. I think a 600cc would be the most I would need to start out with. I was thinking of a small displacement sport bike, or possibly a dual sport. It is going to have to be somewhat old as my budget would be 3-4k.

What do you think?

Kawasaki Ninja 250R. Can be had for reasonable prices used, lightweight, durable, reliable, went virtually unchanged for almost two decades (parts availability/interchangeability). New generation examples (08'+) are aesthetically pleasing, but be prepared to pay a premium for them (over 5k in some markets after mark-ups).

I have seen this happen many times before, but don't make the mistake of assuming a 600cc is an ideal beginner platform.

Just my , ultimately you'll have to put your man pants on and make a decision for yourself. If the Ninja 250 interests you, then look at the following site/community:

(Note: you may want to check out the "New Riders" section)

Good luck.

Comment