Used track/autox tires source?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Used track/autox tires source?

So I'm a broke college student, and in the long run I think I'll be better off having street tires, track tires, and snow tires rather than running really sticky rubber on the street, as I do a lot of highway driving.

My current track wheels are 15x7, which would allow me to run all that old rubber from the civic guys, which I know is out there somewhere... So what are your thoughts on used performance tires for a weekend warrior like myself? Any sources online I should look up?

Project M42 Turbo

Head to the track for big race weekends. NASA events, hit up the SpecE30 guys or the Spec Miata guys. SCCA events, hit up the Spec Miata guys. Both cars run 15x7 Toyo RA-1s. Great track-day tire.

Actually, with Spec Miata in SCCA going from Toyo RA-1 to R888 and back to RA-1, there are some slightly or never used R888 out there for relatively little money - these are usually the rain tires the guys mounted but didn't use, or used a few times with minimal wear.

Specmiataclassifieds.com
    Mazdaracer.com
    miata.net

I also have a set of RA-1 tires Iused as rains with about 50-60% tread left that I wouldn't mind replacing. 3 years old. PM me if you'd be interested.
    Ben
    Thelma-Louise, the '88is Chump Car - back to M20 power!

2014 ChumpCar Season Schedule!
    April 5-6 Autobahn, IL - Sat: 1st! Sun: 3rd
    May23-25 Watkins Glen, NY: 4th, 5th, 4th
    October 4 PittRace Sprints: 2nd in C-class
    October 18-19 NCM, Bowling Green KY: 2nd, 1st!
    Nov 1-2 Watkins Glen - Chumpionship - 1st car to exit the race with significant body damage :(

Find us on FB! Schaut Speed Motorsports

Comment

try philstires in NY he has all kinds of good track tires used and slightly used...hes the tire guy for NASA MA
      NASA
      BMWCCA member
      PCA member 25yrs

1991 318IS slick top
      1997 M3 sedan
      2001 325CI DD