Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tire shaving near N. Illinois S. Wisconsin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tire shaving near N. Illinois S. Wisconsin?

Anyone know of anyplace that will shave new tires in Milwaukee/Northern Illinois area?

2012 MCSCC/NSSCC CP class champ
    HSAX Instructor

Im curious as to why you want to shave tires? I know it is a good Idea to run your tires a bit until they get sicky but I have never heard of anyone shaving them. I only autox on street tires though so I may be a complete noob when it comes to a road course.

NVM. Just did some research. I have raced in two SCCA regions and have never heard of anyone doing this. When my street tires (usually thread ratings of 140) start to wear, I have great traction initially but then when heated become like an all season tire when trying to get grip.
    Last edited by WUGcatsvt; 11-22-2011, 12:13 PM.
    2002 SVT Focus for track and DD.
    1986 BMW 325E also for track and DD.

Comment

Shaving tires is a very common practice for competitors very serious into autoX. Main reason is to have fresh, non heat cycled rubber with less tread squirm from the tread blocks.

Comment

There was a guy by name of Tommy Turtle at Raceway Park that sent my street stock tires to the shaver. Its been close to 20 years, I will ask around.
        sigpic
        Reich und Roll!

Comment

Cassidy tire, Addison Il 630 620 2300
          sigpic
          Reich und Roll!

Comment

I actually found a place right by my home track on South Beloit, WI that does it. Best part is he lives right by the tire shop I ordered the tires from so he's picking up and dropping off for me.

Frisby Performance Tire
            800-798-7201

HSAX Instructor

Comment

Originally posted by Nsquared97 View Post
              Shaving tires is a very common practice for competitors very serious into autoX. Main reason is to have fresh, non heat cycled rubber with less tread squirm from the tread blocks.