Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

South Bay Tom Lantos Tunnels Drive

*****THIS HAS BEEN CANCELED*****

I still want to do this drive, I will reschedule it and make a new thread for that when I figure out the new date.

The other day heard about the Tom Lantos Tunnels, the new tunnels to bypass the Devil's Slide section of Hwy 1 (more info for those of you who do not know what I am talking about here: http://www.sfgate.com/bayarea/articl...26-4352830.php ), and I have been wanting to drive up there and drive through it ever since. I thought some of you guys might be interested in doing the same thing, so I planned out a nice route through some twisties and decided to make a group drive out of it.

This is my first time planning a group event so if you guys have any advice or I did anything wrong, please let me know.

Where:

The Meeting place would be at the 76 at the bottom of Hwy 9 in Saratoga, this is a pretty easy place to find with enough parking for a small to medium sized group and people can grab some gas before we leave if needed.

When:

Since the poll didn't help much and it sounds like there's a lot going on over the dates I initially picked, I have decided that it will be on the 25th of May. As for time, I was thinking we could leave at about 10:30am.

Route:

For those of you who don't like maps, we would start by going up Hwy 9 to Skyline Blvd. We would then take Skyline all the way north to Tunitas Creek Rd. Once on Tunitas, we would follow that down to Lobitos Creek Rd and take that down to Hwy 1. From There we would take 1 up to the tunnels, have our fun with them and head back down 1 to Pescadero Rd. Then we would go up Pescadero to Alpine Rd and take Alpine to Skyline and 9 then end back where we started.

Food:

We would most likely need to grab lunch somewhere. I am open to suggestions on this, I would say Alice's but I know how crowded they get on weekends.
    April 27th
    50.00%
    May 4th
    0.00%
    May 11th
    50.00%