Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SI Boards for sale + Battery Replacement, Repair, Restore Services

PM me for availability.

First off, let me state that I am an electrical technician with over 16+ years professional experience in electronics repair, rework, and restoration. I specialize in custom electronics fabrication and electronics repair. I can build / repair electronics from high current applications to surface mount technology and circuit board repair. Please trust this service is performed with the utmost quality and standards.

Unfortunately, after around 20 years, us vintage BMW owners experience gauge cluster problems. Many times, these problems can be attributed to bad or leaky SI board batteries. Symptoms of dead, leaky, failed SI board batteries are as follows:
    Cannot reset Service Interval LED's
    Inspection light stays on and cannot be reset
    Gauges begin to operate sporadically, most often is Tachometer, Econometer, Coolant Temperature Gauge.

In addition to bad SI board batteries, other gauge cluster problems can be attributed to damaged electrical traces on the SI board. Please read this short thread outlining SI board damaged from using the incorrect screws to remount your cluster trim.
    Common SI board Damage

Here are some pictures of the process that I use...

As you can see each new battery is verified before installation. Notice the soldering tabs on the battery. These are the factory configuration tabs and fit perfectly into the solder holes on the SI board. Perfect fit. Healthy batteries should have a minimum of 3.0V DC. Most new have 3.2-3.4V DC.

Close up of the batteries removed and solder pads prepped for re-installation. Low temperature soldering irons only.

In addition to the above, I also change the power capacitors, voltage regulators and 15+ transistors for a truly refurbished product.