Another clutch thread.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Another clutch thread.

Im new to understanding clutches as Ive never need to remove or even deal with them. I am swapping an e34 m50 motor with a 98 ZF trans in a month or so. I plan on using as much of the m20 clutch system as possible so I dont have to buy anything. I was told I need to shave the oil pan to make the M20 FW fit without issues.
    Some have said I need the ZF pilot bearing no matter what.
    Some people say that everything should bolt right up, while others say I need a 323 TOB.
    If I use the M20's TOB then I need to use a spacer to make this work, what spacer do I need?
    Am I missing something here what more do I need to buy to make this work? I think Ive spent to much time reading and have confused myself here.

Forget what your read on the internet for the most part. People mis-match so much that it gets confusing.

Simply put, the pilot needs to match the trans. ie ZF is an e36 328/m3, so purchase the pilot for that.

Starter needs to match ring gear on flywheel. So purchase the starter for the FW you have.

Slave matches trans.

TOB matches clutch set (BTW m50/s50/m20/m42 use the same depth). *note* "some" people had issues with the dual mass m20 to SM conversion on the TOB. The only DM m20 FW I have seen is the late eta.

The m20 FW has a large protrusion on the engine side that will contact the RMS housing on a 24v (or m42), so you can either shave the FW, shave the RMS housing, or some people put the bolt ring on the back of the FW (the 6 bolt ~3mm thick ring that goes on the clutch side of the FW normally).

Best thing to do in your situation is use the entire 24v system. The only thing you would have to purchase outside wear items is a FW.
    john@m20guru.com
    Links:
    Transaction feedback: Here, here and here. Thanks :D

Comment

So just to clarify, M20 Clutch, PP, FW, & Starter. ZF Pilot bearing and Slave for my system?