school a Noob...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

school a Noob...

on HIDs. Yes I know there's a lighting section and I even found a thread with the same problem as me but no one was answering his or my questions.

i'm new to bmws and hids so be gentle...

1) bought this car with 5k HID Ellipsoids already installed, don't know what brand. I found out I need a new bulb (i'm guessing this is the thin glass tube inside the beam or lens, whatever you want to call it)

I had one side that wasn't working and took this bulb (the thing glass tube) out and switched them and found out it wasn't the ballast.

2) So now my REAL question is would you guys recommend just getting the one replacement bulb or getting both new? I did notice that the colors of the two bulbs were never really quite the same, is this normal?

3) And lastly, since i'm not sure of the brand, should I worry about the connections? or do all bulbs plug in the same way? and where would you guys recommend buying from?

thanks once again r3v!
    09/1989 325i 4 Door
    +M30 Swap
    +Z3 Steering Rack

I would just buy a new kit from DDM. Then you would have spare parts if something happened, and they are damn near as cheap as bulbs

Closing SOON!
    "LAST CHANCE FOR G.A.S." DEAL IS ON NOW

Luke AT germanaudiospecialties DOT com or text 425-761-6450, or for quickest answers, call me at the shop 360-669-0398

Thanks for 10 years of fun!

Comment

wow, I didn't think they'd be that cheap for a kit. DDM tuning had one for about 50 bucks.

Might just do this StereoInstaller1 thanks, what would you do ? stay at 5k or go to 6k? I've never seend 6k in person, is it too blue looking?
      09/1989 325i 4 Door
      +M30 Swap
      +Z3 Steering Rack

Comment

And when you do buy new ballast, don't worry about them being cheaper or more expensive, IIRC they are all the same.
        Your signature picture has been removed since it contained the Photobucket "upgrade your account" image.