What's the deal with sealed beams?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's the deal with sealed beams?

I'm lookin to pick up an 87 325is and from what I've read around is that sealed beams are NOT preferable. I'm kinda new to all this kind of stuff so please bare with me here lol.

I understand what sealed beams are, but how hard would it be to convert to regular beams if possible?
    and how can i know if the e30 i want to pick up has sealed beams or not?

i've kind of searched around and didn't find much so help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

they suck...
    sigpic
    ^Back in the game^
    BUILD THREAD: http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=201281
    FS thread:
    http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/showthread.php?t=214105

Comment

sealed beams are way way cheaper than projectors. aesthetically, the ellipsoid projectors looks so much better and also expensive.
      Your signature picture has been removed since it contained the Photobucket "upgrade your account" image.
      ---------------------------------
      89 E30 S52
      ---------------------------------
      Transaction Feedback.

Comment

Easy and cheap swap, that should be the least of your concerns imho. $100-150 will get you a nice/mint set.

Look at other things.....maintenance/body/paint/interior....suspension/engine/tranny/dash/seats/rust/carpet/headliner etc etc.
        Mtech1 v8 build thread - https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho...d.php?t=413205

OEM v8 manual chip or dme - https://www.r3vlimited.com/board/sho....php?p=4938827

Comment

get some hid's and you will be happy lol

Comment

"sealed beams" have a rounded front. the "projectors" have a flat face. easy to tell the difference if you just look
            -FREEDOM- is cruisin at 80, windows down and listening to the perfect song-thinking "this is it"
            -The Beauty in the Tragedy-
            MECHANIC SMASH!!- (you all know you do it)
            Got Drop?? ;-)