radio crackling and very loud

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

radio crackling and very loud

hey everyone i'm still learning how to navigate the forum correctly. looking for help and if someone already posted something like this (surely someone did) then i will continue searching. My 88 325ix hadn't ran in 8 years i bought it and got it going i just called the dealer yesterday and got the 5 digit radio code. the radio came on but had alot of static and crackling. is it better to put an aftermarket radio in and follow the sticky for bypassing the amp or is there a way to test that the amp is bad? i'm trying to keep this as original as possible it's a one owner super low milage car. I sold two spare radios i had like an idiot too! thank you in advance for any and all help with this.

I'll be posting some troubleshooting advice this weekend.
    you should have a dash fader knob on your car, and you probably have the door tweeters and premium amp too.
    my 88IX came with a pioneer KE81ZBM 2 channel radio and premium sound. you could also have a 5905 in there.

is the noise present even if you're not moving the volume control?
    does it get louder if you turn the volume up or stay the same?
    is it on all channels?
    I BUY/SELL REFURBISHED CM5907s & CM5908s

HOWTOs:
    DB vert plastic bumpers
    OEM Keys
    MTech1 docs

88 ix Lach/Card
    91 ic Calypso 3.1
    86 Cosmo 2.7

OEM+ or bust!

reelizmpro: I will always be an e30 guy.. I still do all of my own labor
    TrentW: There's just something so right about a well-built M20 in an E30
    e30m3s54turbo: I save my money for tuner parts.

Comment