Plastic Bumper Conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plastic Bumper Conversion

Hello r3v community! I’m fairly new to the E30 scene. I picked up an 88’ 325i convertible this summer and it’s been consuming my money ever since! My most recent purchase was a set of late model plastic bumpers. I wanted to give a brief explanation and walkthrough of how I installed the rear end. I also wanted to ask the community a few questions about the installation for those who have experienced issues. Last weekend I picked up a set of plastic bumpers off of an 89’ 325i. Front bumper, Front valance and Rear bumper for a whopping $150. Non of the trim came with it but I can’t complain. I proceeded to take the US metal bumpers off of my car. The front was very easy and self explanatory however, the rear took a bit longer than I had expected it to After removing the countless 10/8mm nuts and screws to get the trim off of the vehicle I was ready to get the plastic bumper fitted on I figured it wouldn’t be 100% plug and play so I managed to hold the bumper up with jack stands allowing me to ‘mark the position of the two bumper sliders After doing so I was able to remove the bumper and mark where I had to drill holes I used two rubber washers and two metal washers on the lower bolt to sit between the slider and the body of the car. I did this so the slider would be parallel with the car. I hoped this would leave no gap between the bumper and the body line but was mistaken It doesn’t look terrible in the photo but it is not as high as I would like it to be. I also noticed the two ends of the bumper don’t line up perfectly with the fender arch. I slightly skimmed the inward curve of the bumper This is the result I got. When looking at it from above. It looks pretty bad but I plan on doing something about it. I’d like to see if anyone could provide further advice. I don’t want to cut the bumper down to fit but I will if it’s my only option Is there anything I can do a