low boost turbo questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

low boost turbo questions

im new to the turbo game and considering doing a low boost turbo.. most likley using a rebuilt factory saab turbo or the like. my quesions are

: what kind of injectors and electronics would be best? also, would an intercooler been necessary?

thanks, duncan

your best off just staying n/a homie. good luck

Comment

Figure out how much power you want to make, and build your setup accordingly. Also, before you post again, use your search button at the top of the page, as this question has been asked half a million times (exaggeration on the number, but not by much). Read up to what everyone else has done/used and then start your planning. But to get down to it, most people will tell you Megasquirt for management, and injectors depend on how much power you want to make (close to 1cc per hp, but not exact). The intercooler is a good idea. It cools down the intake temperatures and helps prevent detonation (and improves hp since the air is cooler/more dense)
      85' 318i ~The Bronze Bomber (FrankenM10 with a Forced Future :wgaf:)

Comment

Holset HY35

Project log -- DIRTY 30

2.7i * Megasquirt tuned * E85 powered

Comment

You can do a low boost build without MS.

Get a chip. Let's start off with the TCD chip. I have heard nothing but good things about it. Then for fuel you will want to get 24lb (minimum) to 30lb (maximum) injectors. The stock motronic can only handle 30lb injectors. For controlling how much fuel each injector pumps out you will want an RRFPR (rising rate fuel pressure regulator). A great RRFPR is a begi 2025. Then, adjust fuel pressure and attach the RRFPR to a vac source (intake manifold). For precise A/F monitoring, you will want a wideband o2 sensor. Innovate makes great products. Widebands are absolutely essential. And yes, there is no reason to not run an intercooler. Plus, they look kinda cool ;)

Good luck man.

Comment