Holset m20 turbo Q's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Holset m20 turbo Q's

So I decided a little bit ago that I want to do an m20 turbo build as I'll be getting my brothers Golf to drive for the next couple years and will have time and hopefully the coins to build up a turbo.

I am now in the process of finding a turbo and assembling parts. I was thinking a Holset HX35 or HX40 but recently a WH1C popped up. I've read they are very similar to the HX35 and use the same housing size and impeller size? I'm wondering if this would be a good turbo, or if I should try to find a HX35-40?

I've also ready Holsets are rather easy to rebuild fairly cheap. and was wondering If this would apply to this turbo.

I'm waiting for my Maximum Boost book to get here so I can read that prior to starting, as I've read that's invaluable.

I am no expert by any means, so I'll let others chime in, but I am running an H1c. It spools wayy late because the exhaust housing is way too big for the boost level I'm at (7 psi - wastegate issue, should be 10)

There are many different exhaust housing sizes that all fit on a h1c's and hx35s. So with the right sized exhaust housing, an h1c will do just as well I would think!

I'm running a 16cm exhaust housing, 7 psi on a 2.7i makes this dyno chart:

I think a 12cm housing would be much better suited, and an easy swap to do. Depends on what you want

My Transaction Feedback
    My "build" thread
    BUY MY CAR!!

Comment

Originally posted by saturnv7890 View Post
      I am no expert by any means, so I'll let others chime in, but I am running an H1c. It spools wayy late because the exhaust housing is way too big for the boost level I'm at (7 psi - wastegate issue, should be 10)

There are many different exhaust housing sizes that all fit on a h1c's and hx35s. So with the right sized exhaust housing, an h1c will do just as well I would think!

I'm running a 16cm exhaust housing, 7 psi on a 2.7i makes this dyno chart: