CAM Seal...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CAM Seal...

I apologize in advance if this question has already been posted...

I dropped off my 89' 325is at a local shop to have it looked over since I just bought it. They said it checked out just fine! BUT - it does need a CAM Seal and a oil return line. I found the seal at BAV, np.
    My question, how much of a pain in the ass is it going to be to replace the CAM seal? I'm new to e30's and not very familiar with them yet :oops:(Had a 02' GTI 1.8T previous to my new e30).

Something I should leave to the pros or should a novice be able to handle it at home?? Perhaps nothing to worry about?? Any advise is appreciated!
    Thanks guys!! Paul
    sigpic

its an easy fix,

get the seal AND Oring for the seal housing

You will also need to get a Timing belt and tensioner since you will be releaving the tension on the belt, and a Waterpump and seal if you want to be really through

you will also need an external Torx or Etorx socket, i forget what size to remove the cam pulley,

Start by removing the plugs, wires, cap, radiator hoses, drain coolant, fan shroud, fan clutch.

then put car in gear with wheels on ground and loosten the cam pulley bolt (Etorx)

remove the TB covers and the waterpump and pulley, remove the TB tesioner and the TB.

Remove the cam pulley, remove the 2 m6 bolts holding on the seal housing, pull out old seal and remove housing oring, Press in new seal using a vise or press and a seal driver or very large socket, replace Or ing and lightly lube, tap into place with deadblow hammer, replace 2 M6 bolts, replace pulley, install new waterpump and seal , tenioner and TB, TB covers, hoses, cap , rotor and wires

done

make sure to read through the TB procedure as you will need to pay attention to some markings to c omplete correctly

everyone needs to do this at least once, I would adjust the valves after and replace oil and filter for a job well done

good luck