Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Revving issue, won't rev past 5100rmp. 325is.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Revving issue, won't rev past 5100rmp. 325is.

Recently purchased 325is, and discovered that the damn thing won't rev past 5100rpm even though I know it should be higher than that.

I'm new to BMW world so I'm not sure if the engine has some sort of fail safe limp mode, which is likely with German over engineering but unlikely because it's an 87.

My other guesses, is that in the past 22 years somebody threw a wrong ECU in there. 325e? possibly?

Or it actually has the 325e ecu and motor from previous owners.

Any other ideas or places to look?

Runs like a champ, but hits fuel cutoff directly at 5100rpm.

:weak:

You've got an eta motor, or at least an eta ECU (I'm not sure if you can have an "i" engine harness and an "e" ECU, IIRC the "i" ECU has three rows of pins and the "e" has only two, beyond that pin assignments are probably different). What sort of engine speeds are you seeing at 80mph?

Look at the ECU, what's the number on the colored label? I guarantee it's not a 153, 173 or 380, you've probably got an 027 ECU (or probably whatever the super eta ECU is) and the motor to match.

Have you carfaxed it yet? Is it really an is?

Comment

Haven't carfaxed it, but it does the the rear IS spoiler, the sport seats, the front 87IS valance, wheels, LSD and seems like the shorter gearing. I'll check the speed at 80mph today but I want to say it's around 3800RPM

Comment

Pics of the valve cover please. Also on the head, just above the cyl 1 spark plug hole, there should be a 2.5 on it if it is a m20b25.

'89 325i - Totaled... good bye my love...
        '87 327i budget stroker - SOLD!!!
        '92 240sx - ca18det powered drift toy - SOLD!!!
        '89 325i - coupe - NEW daily
        '96 Audi A6 Quattro- Grocery getter/baby hauler
        '99 Busa - weekend wheelie monster

Comment

Originally posted by slo325i View Post