hey newbie here lol

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

hey newbie here lol

so i started working on my '89 325i because it has 2 broken rocker arms. i am currently about to remove the timing belt but i dont know how to start this, i have already removes the v-belt's, removed the water pump pulley, and i am now stuck. i dont know how to locate where the TDC is and well basically i need some step by step instruction from here..i dont want to ruin my engine by f***ing up something simple like making sure i set the TDC correctly before starting to remove stuff lol. i was thinking i should remove the TB, then replace the rocker arms, install water pump belt tensioner and then TB. soo i just want to make sure everything is done right so once again i cannot locate the TDC on the cam pulley or vibration damper. Thanks for helping!

Edit: wait scratch that i found the marks but theres a problem now..look and see!

and..
    Last edited by gtdragon980; 06-02-2008, 01:54 PM.

FREE BITCOINS!! http://qoinpro.com/71690d1639966bfbf223bf16538cec21
    Originally posted by scabzzzz
    I stand up, pull my dick out, and asked my gf to give me some noggin... Well, she starts laughing at me and I freaked out and ran off and locked myself in a bedroom.
    1989 325i - Project/weekend driver
    2002 325i - DD
    2005 Suzuki SV650 - Toy

it seems to be slightly off, what should i do from here?

I stand up, pull my dick out, and asked my gf to give me some noggin... Well, she starts laughing at me and I freaked out and ran off and locked myself in a bedroom.
    2002 325i - DD
    2005 Suzuki SV650 - Toy

Comment

It actually looks right to me. Align the O|T mark on the harmonic balancer with the mark on the timing belt cover, then check the cam mark. The camshaft rotates at half crank speed, so a small error at the cam sprocket is a big error at the crank, which is why you check timing based on the harmonic balancer position.