S52 or E39 V8 swap?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

S52 or E39 V8 swap?

I'm a newbie :D But I've been lurking for months. I finally found an E30 325i with 68k miles. I want a lot more power. I've been searching for a week and have found some helpful info (apparantly the e34 V8 us popular).

I have an E46 M3 and have owned 4 E36 M3's. I'm planning full M-tech wide body with (like I said, big motor) but have never done a swap before. I've pulled E36 motors and know my way around repairs. I do ALL my work myself.

What is required for an s50/52 swap? will the E39 V8 fit? If so, what's required? OR, what is the best swap for power? I'm not going forced induction,

Please, don't flame me! I'm a good guy and am on many forums (M3Forums, Bimmerforums, etc..) but none for this.

You guys would help me a ton if you could point me towards a DIY for any/all these.

Thanks guys,
    Dan

Ok, M60 (I think is the way I wanna go). Help?!?!?!?!?! Any DIY's?

Comment

i would say s50, plenty of power, and is still OBD1
      sigpic

Comment

S50/52. Much easier than a V8 swap, no real fabrication necessary all you have to do is buy the right parts. Also there is much more aftermarket support for the 6 cylinders, there isn't much you can do with the V8.

'89 Alpine S52 with goodies

Comment

What's your budget? Usually separates the S motors from the M's right there

IMO you're probably get more out of the box power with the M60/M62 than a US spec S50/S52. Although the s50 swap, or an m30 swap for that matter, is a lot easier than a v8 swap.

How important is handling, straight line power, low end torque, and mileage to you?
          '86 E30
          '05 E53 X5
          '72 Firebird
          '10 Prius
          '03 Tundra

Comment

Originally posted by xwill112x View Post

i would say s50, plenty of power, and is still OBD1