m30 experts please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

m30 experts please

So I've been trying to hunt down an m30 in good shape to put in my e30 and this whole time I was looking for a b35, but kept finding a crap ton of b34's. Then it dawned on me that they both have the same 3,428 cc displacement. So the only difference was compression ratio??? Is there anything else? I guess my plan is to get a b34 now but is there anything I should get from the b35 "model". My goal is to just try and make around 220 whp na and then eventually I might turbo it.

I'm no expert but from what I've read, the b35 is definitely stronger hp/torque wise but the b34 block is more durable for boost. As far as interchanging some b35 parts into the b34 to get the same power as a b35, I've read that it's easier to just get a b35 in the first place than trying to make a b34 perform like a b35.
    Instagram: @derkm

Comment

Your name rocks lol. I thought the only difference was that the U.S. cars had catalytic converters and a lower compression ratio. C'mon m30 people help

Comment

I had exactly the same dilemma as youre having. B34s everywhere and no B35s in sight. I personally went with the b34 because I found one for dirt cheap. I think I paid like $80 for it. I threw some B35 pistons in it for 10.3:1 compression.

there are TWO versions of the M30B34 (DO NOT CONFUSE the M90 with the M30b34) the US spec 8:1 green B34 and the euro 10:1 dirty b34. Dirty B34 has piano top pop up pistons while US has dish pistons. The euro motor also has a hotter cam and dual valvesprings, bigger injectors. All B34s and B35s have an 86mm stroke and 92mm bore.

The M30B35 was the last iteration of the M30, Key differences from earlier M30s

-Light weight block casting. (how much lighter I couldn't tell you)
        -different head with larger ports and 47mm intake valves (vs 46 on previous models)