318is e36 m42 swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

318is e36 m42 swap

Picked up this bad boy for 800 bucks and a day of driving. Thank you craigslist. I had an e36 (94) m42 with 79k miles sitting around that I was planning on putting in my 69 2002 but since progress has kinda been halted on that for now I figured I would put it in this since it wasn't running right and I have no knowledge of maintenance or mileage (odometer stopped at 169k, surprise surprise.) I have already pulled the engine and trans, and am waiting on parts at this point. From what I have read, the easiest way is to swap the head and block and keep everything else, so that's the plan right now. I know I will probably take some heat for keeping it simple instead of an m50 or something, but this is only because I had the engine anyway and it will turn into my daily driver. I'm not very good at remembering to take pictures while I am working, but I'll try to post them as I take them.
    Attached Files
    What it feels like owning an e30:

88 325 S50 swap in progress
    90 325ix

the e36 engine has some nice features that I would consider keeping. the single serpentine belt drive system is cool, also the intake setup on the e36 engine is better than the e30 one. you could run that as well with some slight vacuum hose mods ect.

Turbo M42 Build Thread :Here
    Ig:ryno_pzk
    I like the tuna here.
    Originally posted by lambo
    Buttchug. The official poster child of r3v.

Comment

No heat here, man. Looking forward to seeing this project develope.

Comment