Rewiring an E30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rewiring an E30

This is my first post here and I apologize for starting off asking for info. I'm new to the E30 (87 325i) and have been prepping it all winter for some spring autocross (with much help from this forum, thanks!). I recently stripped out the interior and now the car is not starting. I assume I have made a noob mistake here but I am trying to work through it (seems fuel system related). I have a few questions that I hope someone could answer for me.

1. From searching I think my issue may be with the 13 button OBC which I have removed. What is the code bypass all about? Is there a post here on how to bypass it?
    2. Will the car run without a gauge cluster?
    3. One of my "helpers" cut all wiring out from the truck area. Was there a fuel system relay/fuse box in there? I tripped over a post a while ago and thought there was one but its gone from my car now. I can't find that info now.

Again, sorry to post questions but I have done a ton of searching which left me with more questions at this point. Any answers would be greatly appreciated. Hopefully I'll have some contributions soon.
    #30 Overengineer'd Racing - Wilton, NH
    We need friends

get an ETM, and basically follow all your wiring and find breaks, you shouldnt just go cutting wires out...

does the fuel pump prime when you turn the key?
    do you have spark?
    are you getting any DME codes?

way to many variable here...

and yes it will run without a cluster or OBC.

Full Build Thread Here

Comment

+1

You are going to have to spend some time with the ETM to figure out what was cut out in error and put it back in place.
      The car makes it possible, but the driver makes it happen.
      Jim Levie, Huntsville, AL

Comment

Originally posted by MattM View Post
        get an ETM, and basically follow all your wiring and find breaks, you shouldnt just go cutting wires out...